top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Aki

Updated: Apr 19, 2021

My morning thoughts while watching the sunrise over Gichigami.


As I pulled up to the lake, I could see orange cones that had been lined across the access road. It brought me back to a couple months ago, someone threatened to call the cops on my mom for driving down there. The reason that this individual gave her for the threat was it was blocked off because, "it was too muddy". Okay. Here's the thing. 1) Why do we not have conversations within our community (especially when the conversations may include people of different levels of power)? My mom is a community member and this individual worked for the business that "owns" the land (whole other problem I have with that statement). Why couldn't there be a conversation about why it's blocked off to community members - I'm not sure if the worry of erosion was the actual concern because all the person told my mom was that it was too muddy. 2) Why do we jump straight to including law enforcement? Especially with situations that could be solved with even a bit of communication and patience. What a weird world we live in when someone wanting to capture the beauty of the land around us (which is also one of her passions) is considered enough of a public threat that the cops should be called. So strange.


So, as I'm driving down the road - this thought and a bit of anxiety had me thinking about if someone were to approach me with this issue. I always have speeches and arguments thought out in my head and as soon as I get the opportunity to use them - my fear of confrontation shuts me down (one of my goals to work on).


I wouldn't say that I'm entitled to walk all over the land wherever I want and whenever I want. But, with that same breath, if it's done in a respectful and mindful manner - why not? This brings up the whole controversy of: Can you actually own the land? I don't think so. I'm sure people will disagree with that statement. I ran across a quote the other day: "We do not inherit the land from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children." So, as we give land acknowledgements, it's important to honor who have walked on before us, but it's also essential to recognize that we are the ones that have to do the work for generations to come after us. With all of that being said, I think that "own" is a scary word when we are talking about land, maybe rephrase to a place that you are taking on the responsibility to care and protect. I know what you're probably thinking. Damn Northland Hippie. You could be right, but I invite you to compare and contrast these two ways of phrasing our connection to the land. What different feelings and thoughts arise with each statement?


One of the concepts that stuck with me from a book that I read for my outdoor education class was the concern of "private property" and "no trespassing" signs. What a way to shut people out. Now, I am not saying that I would be a fan of a stranger just walking in and out of my house whenever they feel like it. But, the idea of having a community where you can explore wherever outdoors without feeling that impending doom of violating trespassing laws. For children to run freely and be taught respect instead of borders. Howah. What a beautiful thought.


I go down by the lake in the mornings (especially starting in ziigwan) to clear my mind and begin my day out in a good way. It's a time for reflection for me. It's healing. Listening to the birds wake up and watching the first rays of the sun dance on the water are things that I never want to take for granted. I want to use these experiences to advocate for the land around us.


There is so much more to discuss on this topic, I believe that more mornings by the water will help me organize my feelings and write them down. As always, I'm open to any discussion generated from these thoughts and I am thankful for you taking your time out of your day to read this post. Miigwech nindanawemaaganag.


I am shaped by the land, my relatives, and all of my surroundings. I want to acknowledge that I would not be where I am today without any of them. I am still learning and I am thankful for all of the teachers that I have in my life.


Nimaamaa Aki. Gichigami. Mitigoog. Awesiinyag. Nindanawemaaganag. Nimiigwechiwendam noongom.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Zhebaa.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page