top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Zhebaa.

Ziigwan.

It is 5:30am (thanks to my messed up sleep schedule, I've been up since 3:30am) and I have the pleasure of sitting next to my open window as I write. I am able to feel the cool breeze and listen to the consistent pitter-patter of rain and songs of spring peepers throughout the woods. I take this moment to breathe in the not-quite-warm, yet not-freezing air.


There are multiple ways that I love to start my day, usually it depends on what time of the year it is.

In the early spring, when the days are still more like biboon (winter), I still cozy up with my makade-mashkikiwaaboo miinawaa mazina'igan (coffee and book). This year, I've been able to fit a workout routine into quite a few of my mornings. It's amazing to me the difference between my days when I start with a workout vs when I skip. On the days that I don't work out - I'm dragging by 2:00pm. But, that thought still doesn't have me motivated to get my workout completed by 6:00am every day and I'm okay with that.

In later spring, when the days get warmer and the snow is (usually) gone, I start venturing outside more to begin my days. Whether it be at home near/in the woods, or down by the lake, I usually have a book or a pen and paper.


It's about 6:00am now and the sounds of the spring peepers have died down and the bineshiinyag (birds) have taken over. Chirp, chirp.


Alright, I'm ready to make some goals - what I want to complete during Ziigwan:

  • Gitigaan: Begin our garden. Last year I think it was easier to get started because we were all stationed at home during this time. This year, it might take a little bit more extra motivation since I can use the excuse of being busier. Even if I don't grow them all from seed, I want to do as much as possible. Miijim. Waabigwaniin. Also, if anyone has any tips/tricks with growing from seed - especially since my house does not have good sunlight exposure - share, daga! I would appreciate so much.

  • Ojibwemowin: Niminwendam gikinoo'amaagooyaan ji nitaa-Ojibwemoyaan. I want to continue learning and practicing Ojibwemowin as much as possible and sharing with my family. I found that it is easy for me to spew words and phrases out at work but I wasn't making the same effort at home with my family, so I decided to make that a priority as I learn (while making sure that I increase my efforts in my workplace as well).

  • Gikinoo'amaadiwin (education): I am going to continue to fight for an education that I believe is best for our children. I've been reading so many articles and having discussions with people around me that help me stay on this train of thought. I don't associate my children's success with memorizing facts/equations. I want them to be able to problem solve, to work with others, and to honestly live their best lives. Is everything going to be sunshine and rainbows? Gaawiin. But why does it seem that we pound it into our children's minds starting as young as preschool that you have to sit and listen (obedient) or you won't succeed (even worse, you're not "good"). Do all people sit and listen all of the time (even adults)? Gaawiin. You know what your body needs. Are there times that we should sit and listen? Geget. But, the high expectation of uniform learning and obedience at all times is not it for my children. So, Haley - how else could we learn if it's not sitting in a circle having an adult spew some knowledge at us? Exploration. Experimentation. Socialization.

It is now 6:30am, the rain has stopped and it is light enough to see all of the bineshiinyag diving and fluttering around to find their breakfast on the ground outside.


I love watching the world wake up in the morning. It's honestly one of the most humbling experiences to me. Mino giizhigad. It is a good day. Miigwech for reading.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page