top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Gikinoo'amaagan

Boozhoo gakina awiya,


While on maternity leave, I've decided to put my energy toward language learning and immersing myself, my family, and my home in Ojibwemowin. I'm not sure at what point I will no longer consider myself a beginner, but I know that I still have so much to learn which can be overwhelming but also extremely exciting. I apologize for any mistakes I make along the way. Learning the language is an extremely humbling experience, because just when I think I've got it down - there's another conjugation or verb form that I need to learn and practice. I also have a lot to work on training my brain to "think in Ojibwemowin" vs. "thinking in English" when speaking. So, right now, my translations may be choppy due to the fact that I am still learning how to rewire my brain in that way.


I have been finding and watching every resource I can find on the internet that involves language learning and creating immersion programs. One video that I watched this morning discussed designing success in your language journey. One thing that she started off with was self-reflection. She asked a few questions for listeners to reflect on. I jotted down some notes that I've typed below, and after that, I'll break them down a bit more:


Self-reflection Notes:


What am I great at: Passionate, dedicated, grammar skills, finding and utilizing resources, creating/tweaking learning resources that work for me and my family


What am I not so great at: Auditory processing (my mom will tell you I don’t listen and it took me trying to learn the language to realize she might be right), time management, follow-through on all ideas


What do I have the energy to repair: Auditory processing/listening skills


How will I repair: Listening to audio/viewing transcripts from Oshkaabewis Journal, listening to fluent speakers on Youtube (with or without the transcripts), try to transcribe Koko Jones videos on YouTube - repetition!


What can I let go: Time management (to an extent), I won’t finish everything right away - make it more of a process instead of focusing on having an instant result


Further self-reflection:


It was hard for me to start with "what am I great at" so I honestly started with "what am I not so great at", apparently my brain likes to self-critique before it self-flatters (ha!). One thing that I have noticed in my language learning journey is that my expressive language is further along than my receptive language (this basically means I'm a better talker than listener, which my mom tried to tell me throughout my whole life - oops, she was right). Anyway, I am trying to be a more active and present listener. One way that I've been working on this with language learning is I've been using the Koko Jones videos on YouTube (videos that are designed for children, all in the language - Ningozisag gewiinawaa ominwendanaawaa - my sons like it?). Nimbizindaan. Mii dash indoozhiibii'aan (I listen to it. Then I write it). All I need for this part is: access to Koko Jones Youtube videos, ozhibii'iganaak (writing utensil), mazina'igan (paper), miinawaa nitawagan (and my ears).

After I am done transcribing (to the best of my ability, I write down what I hear and I have to play it multiple times). I attempt to translate. For this part I use all the online resources I have: the Minnesota online dictionary is a huge resource to help with voca


bulary that I do not know yet. Another thing I do will be to just type in a word on google and then add the word "Ojibwe" after it (otherwise you'll get some pretty strange, irrelevant websites) and see what comes up. I've found some really awesome resources and websites by just doing that. I will also use it as a "conjugation check" when I'm attempting to conjugate a word I'm not fully sure of - I'll type it into the search bar and a lot of the time (if it's correct) it will pop up from some website or document (Oshkaabewis Journal has had a lot of hits since the vocabulary is so extensive throughout them).


I decided something that I can let go of for myself would be my lack of time management and my feeling of urgency to get things done. I know that I get way too overwhelmed when I sit and plan lots of things but can't get them done within the time frame that I give myself (usually not realistic). So, I've decided to work on having more realistic expectations of myself and also to let go of the idea that I'm going to get it all done right now. It really is the focus on the journey vs. the destination (which I've always had an issue with). The journey is imperfect and takes detours - and that is okay. Nimino-ayaa. Niwii-mino-ayaa. Niwii-mino-ayaamin. (I am fine. I will be fine. We will be fine.) Nimbaap (I am laughing).


Aaniin nitaawichigeyaan (choppy translation?)? What am I good at?: When thinking about that question, I thought about my passion for learning the language. Not only for me, but for (and with) my children. I know that if I want to learn, I need to prioritize and make the time to learn. I was lucky enough to join the group of language learners in the community during some immersion experiences in the last couple months and it was such an eye-opening experience. One thing that I took away from that time was the constant reminders of having your language learning success being dependent on your effort. I am the only one that can make that decision to learn the language and actively work towards that goal. If I want to learn the language, I need to make every effort I can to speak it. I need to make that conscious decision each day to speak Ojibwemowin to ningozisag miinawaa ninaabem. I try to extend that effort beyond my "immediate family" out into the community as well. Even just answering my phone with "Boozhoo, Aaniin" vs. "Hi, Hello" is one step that I've consciously made. Keeping a notebook by me (or using the notes in my phone) when I think of something I want to say but I don't know how yet, has been extremely helpful to build my vocabulary.


I will write more blogs on specific things that I've found that work for me and my family. I'm going to use writing and self-reflection as a way of focusing on the process. I also want to take this time to recognize and show appreciation for the speakers and learners that have come before me and all of my teachers throughout my life. There are so many beautiful learning resources that are already established out there, which makes my language learning journey a lot easier. Aho! Miigwech for taking the time to read! Anishinaabemotaadidaa!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Zhebaa.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page