top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

After Further Review...

Every time I've sat down to write/type in the last few months, nothing has come out right. Apparently, I need to be in the right mood at the right time to create anything remotely intelligent or productive (hopefully this might be close to one of those moments). These past few weeks I have slowed down and done more reading and resting than creating and that's okay, too.


After receiving news that I tested positive for COVID-19, I felt the need to still stay busy - now could be a time for churning out masterpieces. As I reflected on teachings of being mindful about creating any art while sick, I allowed myself to let my mind and my body rest for this time. So, instead I did a lot of reading - and Netflix-binging (of course).


Reading has always been a favorite pastime of mine. I've frequently been irritated with how picky I am when it comes to reading. Sometimes, finding a book is way more effort than I'd like to put in - and by the time I've found one, I hardly have the energy to read it (since I've read how many other plot summaries and author's notes).


My wonderful sister has gone out of her way to purchase me the absolute cutest monthly subscription labeled "Coffee & a Classic". I've received a few different boxes that all contained themed objects, a specialty coffee, and a book for that month. It is all so cute! I haven't received even 12 months worth of the subscription so I'd hate to make a false statement, so I can just speak to what I've received. The "classic" literature seems to all have a theme - Little Women, The Awakening, Moby Dick, Emma, Sherlock Holmes, And Then There Were None - their authors and their stories are all white voices. Now, I'm not trying to strike down any of the books here and this isn't supposed to be a personal attack on Jane Austen or any of the other authors. It is an observation that I have made and like I said, these are only a portion of the subscription but so far, to me, it seems that "classic" is predominately white culture. Maybe it's the space that I am in right now in life but trying to read about early 19th century English society is just not jiving with me (perhaps I can revisit later in life, after I've read books that include more diversity).


As a teacher, I should probably not admit that I was not a fan of reading books for school. I usually skimmed through them enough just to get all of the important plot points and pass the tests (apologies to my former English teachers). I can't really remember the titles of most of the books that I skimmed over, but here are a few that did stick out (and I actually took the time to read):

  • Yellow Raft in Blue Water

  • Island of the Blue Dolphins

  • Code Talkers

  • Walk Two Moons

Now, even though some of them might not be the best reflection of Indigenous culture (I really don't remember specifics that great). I do recognize that just the fact that there was Indigenous representation in the book had a huge impact on me.


I have been on Google and scouring book reviews for the last few weeks (as well as using other sources: good friends and social media) to find children's books that highlight BIPOC voices. I looked into this for my home as well as the classroom that I will be teaching in. This has become extremely important to me, especially since seeing a few data graphs that showed how many children's books have BIPOC representation. Seeing this graphic and reflecting on the books that impacted me in school honestly bummed me out but it also motivated me to find as many books as I could to spotlight BIPOC voices.

(Not my infographic)


Disclaimer: I will always include my Nicholas Sparks collection in my library. So do not get it twisted that I'm never again supporting a white, male author. This reflection is just how I've felt when looking for books (or even shows to watch) and I'm hoping to get some thoughts and discussion generated.


So here is a little bit of a blurb on what I've been thinking about in regards to reading and searching for books. If any of you wonderful readers have any suggestions, send them my way, daga!!

Here are a few of my recent favorites:

There, There by Tommy Orange

Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson

The Girl That Fell From the Sky by Heidi Durrow

This Town Sleeps by Dennis E. Staples


126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page