top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Bekaa!

Finding a balance between movement and marveling.


That was my focus as I took a walk in the woods on lunch break. It was snowing and honestly, just too d*mn majestic for words. I walk in the woods alone for five minutes and I swear that's when the .03847% of poet in me is brought to light.


Let's back up a bit to why my thoughts led me to this focus.


Becoming an adult (blah), I let myself become a destination-focused person. A few different things have allowed me to acknowledge this about myself and begin to change.


The first thought that comes to my mind was any road trip anywhere with Nimaamaa. She loves stopping and taking pictures at any wonky tree or big rock that you come across. Trying to go out to Montana with her was a nightmare because I just wanted to get to MSU and get back home (I know, I was 18 and a fun-sucker). Now, to back up even more - Nimaamaa had never gone anywhere in her entire life (I'm only slightly exaggerating), so when she was able to see all of these things, she took them in and was able to marvel at all of it. Me, being a spoiled brat that had already been out to Montana once, decided I've seen enough geysers and bison to last me a lifetime. Anyway, I got crabby - she got crabby - it was great times (ha!). I realized that I should've just gotten over my destination-based mindset and it would've been a lot more fun to take that time to stop and explore. We've gone on smaller road trips since then and I do take the time to enjoy our stops (especially since she takes any detour I ask when I want to check out a coffee shop - even though she can't even stand the smell of coffee, love you Nimaamaa!).


Another example was my hike through Houghton Falls with a crew from Northland. I may have already stated this one in a previous blog post, but I swear this small hike had just a profound impact on re-evaluating what I want to do and how I want to do things. A hike that I had gone on a handful of times before turned into over an hour one-way because everyone kept stopping to look at every leaf and flower blooming. Instead of frustrating, it was eye-opening. The path I'd walked down many times before opened up into this whole new world (*cue Aladdin song*), just because of the different way that it was perceived in that moment. Small things were noticed and honored along the journey.


Why do I want to change that destination-led perspective?


To actually enjoy life, of course, but so many other thoughts and reasoning come along with that.


Storytime: walking through the woods on my lunch break for the last couple of weeks has shown me so much. A few days ago, I followed a coyote trail. As I was looking at the prints and trudging through the snow it came to my attention that all of a sudden the prints started multiplying. (Here's my disclosure where I admit that I talk to myself aloud to make lame jokes) I said to myself, "wow, must've been a council meeting going on" and as soon as I said that I nearly stepped on a deer leg carcass (to which I answered, "looks like it was a potluck"). All of these things came racing to my mind, number one being that I wish ningozisag were there with me. I started to think about all of the conversation that would happen and how my older son would play out every scenario until he got one that fit his liking and then re-explaining to every person he comes in contact with for the next week. What magic. As an adult that is fully aware of this cycle, my mind was racing with all the possibilities. We've watched a lot of animal planet documentaries that show this all being played out, but I don't think that any gruesome television image could replicate that feeling of stumbling across a coyote's leftover lunch. Is that weird? Maybe.


I want my children (and all children) to be able to enjoy learning. I'm going to try to stay off my soapbox of worksheets does not = learning (can't make any promises). But, I think that children should be allowed to explore unapologetically. How do we open our minds to this? Perhaps, we practice ourselves. That single example of running across a deer leg in the woods had my head spinning at the thought that some kids will never get to get beyond the walls and/or fences to witness such a natural experience. We can mimic it in the classroom or in a controlled environment all we want (maybe not that exact scenario), but it will never come close to the unexpected encounter of nature running it's course.


Another thought while trekking through the woods: it seems so much harder (for quite a few people I know, including myself) to want to get outside when the colder months of biboon hit. It's such a process to even get outside, adding layers and making sure there is enough to keep warm. If you add a tiny human (or multiple) to the mix, forget it. By the time you get ready to go outside, you're sweating and ready for a nap. But, pushing through this part, once you get outside it may seem like there is less to do than there is during the warm niibin months. False. Just being present outdoors for even 15 minutes makes a huge difference in my mood and in my productivity throughout my day. Maybe it doesn't work like that for you, and that's okay. This is what works for me and I've witnessed being outdoors affect many different children (and adults) in that way as well.


Okay, Haley, we get it - you love the outdoors, why keep preaching? Because, what else is there to do when inside? Wah! I see more and more people and kids inside (especially in school settings) and it breaks my heart. Here is where I will recognize - there are definitely more issues in this world when it comes to accessibility of nature that I am not able to speak on. I'm not here to shame anyone that may not have access to those spaces. But, I'm here to show people that around Northern WI (and I'm sure plenty more places in this world) there are so many opportunities around you to enjoy that natural space and what it has to offer mentally, emotionally, cognitively, and physically.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page