top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Gidaa-izhichige!

Disclaimer: When I signed up for a 6-week fitness challenge, I told myself I wasn't going to be one of those slightly-annoying fitness buffs that talks about their workout routines and meal plans. Okay, five days into it and I realized that I'm annoying anyway so I might as well share my process, because it helps give me accountability and keep me motivated. Anyone that doesn't care to listen or watch obviously won't anyway, or they will just to be nosey.


Disclaimer, Pt. II: I refuse to be on the "new year, new me" wave. Whenever I've tried to do that, it has burned out very quickly, if it works for you - I'm not here to stop that. It just so happens that this fitness challenge began January 4th. That being said, I did, however, re-evaluate my life and goals during the winter solstice and take that time to declutter and reestablish what I'd like to focus on.


So, here they are - the goals that no one asked for (in no particular order) and what is helping me stay motivated:


  • Get Healthier. Feel Healthier. Be Healthier. I am not just talking a number on a scale. But, I want to feel stronger and more at peace. I had gotten back into yoga consistently in the last month and I loved the way it was making me feel. My friend and I decided to challenge ourselves with a 6-week fitness challenge that also has you track meal planning and general nutrition. It is the end of week one and I can actually say that I am feeling so much better (and so sore). One of my biggest goals throughout this first week was to embrace the struggle and honor my body, wherever I am at and whatever I may need at that time.

  • Declutter. My life, my living space, and my mind. I spent a few weeks of last month purging my house. I have been such a hoarder, it was a huge step for me to downsize our junk drawers from 8 to just 1 now (*self-five). It was much needed. I also have been doing that in all areas of the house. I feel like in that process, I might be able to declutter the space in my mind as well (letting go/moving on/being able to focus).

  • Decolonize. Oof. This one is huge and definitely a work in progress, but I will take any change as a win. I've discussed with some of my family celebrating times of the year such as biboon, niibin, dagwaagin, and (my personal fav) ziigwan. Now, am I saying that I'm going to knock out Santa Claus next year and not do the thing all together? Probably not, at this point. I respect families that do and I respect families that don't celebrate these holidays. For my family and myself, I understand that I want my focus shifted on the season and what it is bringing to us at the time, instead of the religious-based holiday. Listening to aadizookaanag (stories), enjoying iskigamizigan (sugar bush), planting and harvesting from a gitigaan (garden), manoominikewin (harvesting wild rice), and practicing and learning Anishinaabemowin are a few things that I am looking forward to focusing on in this next year.

  • Write. I want to keep writing everything. I have been doing quite a bit of writing lately, even though I haven't posted any recently. I want to do more journaling, reflecting, and also work on my book(s).

  • Ninanda-gikendan. I want to keeping learning every day. There are so many things to learn at any given moment and I want to learn them all. Wah! Maybe not that much, but I want to soak in as much as I can. I want to better myself as a mother, a teacher, a student, and as an Anishinaabekwe.

  • Agwajiing giga-izhaamin! We're going outside! I want to continue to include nature and the outdoors in my personal and professional life. It is harder for me to go outside when it is colder out, but there are so many different opportunities during that time as well. I just need to push myself a little bit more when it comes to outdoor time during biboon.

  • Niimidaa! I just want to dance it out. Whenever, wherever. I want to continue to use music to motivate me and uplift my spirit. It was a hard year without a powwow season, due to COVID, but I am hoping that I can get back to jingle dress dancing this year.

Miigwech for reading! This is just one little blurb for now because I felt the need to post. It might be followed up with updates or details about each goal, who knows at this point. Feel free to share your goals with me at any time - I'm a fantastic cheerleader (okay, maybe not really, but I'll gas you up).


73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page