top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

#Goals

Updated: Oct 29, 2019


Three of My Current Goals


1) Own a coffee shop with my sister, Brianne.

This is a dream that began a few years back when I was trying to find a place to live outside of my parent's house. At the same time, the old coffee shop in Cornucopia was up for sale. There is an apartment in the upstairs that the old owners used to rent out. Brianne mentioned that if we bought the building, we could start a business and I could live in the upstairs. Someone else ended up buying that building but we still talk about our coffee shop, keeping the dream alive.

Some ideas we've had that proves our c


2) Build My House

My Cadillac proposal for this idea would be - a beautiful, roomy A-Frame cabin on the lake. It has to be on the side of the lake where I can go out onto the porch in the early morning with a cozy cup of coffee and watch the sunrise over the water. I swear, I'm not too picky though...

My Impala proposal would be - a spacious, single-family home with a garage attached. My other dream location would be out by (or on) my parents land, where I grew up. They live next to a huge field while still being surrounded by trees. I crave this type of setting for my children to grow up in, although I have trees around my current house in the RC Housing, it just doesn't have the same feel.

My Rezaratti proposal would consist of - living in RC Housing for the rest of my life and having to pay $15 deposit if I want to paint my walls any other color than that bland, eggshell white... *shudder*


3) Work on Ojibwemowin

Since I've started working at the Red Cliff ECC, I have put time into learning more of the Ojibwe language. Growing up, I remember learning all of the animal names from Animal BINGO and a few words here and there in high school. I try to use as much as I can at home and I'm working on incorporating it into my work with families, as well. The language is so beautiful and powerful with a story behind each word. It is a long process and I'm still in the very beginning of learning. Bangii eta go ninataa-Anishinaabem.

I know I said three, but I do have one more...


4) Get On The Ellen Show

Honestly, I just love Ellen. Her humor and general sense of feel-good is what I want to be when I grow up.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page