top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHaley Hyde

Staying Sane in Quarantine

I'm not. That's it. The end.


Just kidding! Let's see - where to start. What has our quarantined looked like so far?


  • Loads of webinars

  • Never-ending cups of coffee

  • Objects whizzing by my head as if everything flies with the force of Thor's hammer

  • Half-finished projects (all family members included in this reference)

  • Testing of all the limits

  • "Ozhitaan! Agwajiing giga-izhaamin!" (Get ready! We're going outside!)

I refuse to write a blog post that is a pity party about how I'm stuck home with the tiny humans that I created and how I'd rather be anywhere else. I also will not sit here and type as if this has been the most blissful, euphoric experience of my life. I know that I am thankful for the situation that I am in and I understand that there are lots of stressors during this time such as lack of financial security and impending health concerns. I want to stay respectful of everyone in all situations and know that I am wishing everyone well and if you ever need anyone to vent to, shoot me a message.


Disclaimer: since I've written my previous blog post ranting about routines, I have educated myself on the difference between routine and schedule. My family has routines, not schedules.


Anyway, what is our quarantine routine? (Go ahead, say it, it's fun.)

Step One: Wake up

Step Two: Make coffee

Step Three: Get the tiny humans out the door as swiftly as possible before they can scheme indoor shenanigans that usually end in one or both screaming and crying


But you know what, we're making it. We're making it beautiful and slightly chaotic. Even though I tire of reminding my son what we can and cannot hit in the house (he fancies using his little brother for batting practice). Some days I would like to crawl in a bubble bath for six-eight hours to be able to emerge refreshed and ready to take on the world. There are moments in even those days that outweigh the frustration.


There are things that I have decided to work on during this time. I have prioritized these carefully based on my goals and responsibilities. These things include: self-care, connecting with my tiny humans, and getting outside as much as as possible.


What have I done to create a routine for self-care?

Ask any professional, they will tell you that self-care is crucial, during this time and always. It can also be one of the hardest things we attempt as people (I would say parents especially, but again, I want to stay mindful of all people in all situations).


So, when I was deciding what is important to make routine for my self-care I asked myself this question: what makes me happy?

This is a very general question and a lot makes me happy (including things that are currently unavailable to me), so something else to think about is what can I do for myself, in these circumstances, that makes me happy? Here is a list I came up with:

  • Read: I've been taking time to read for fun. I have bounced from book to book and I've been able to finish some books that I started previously but put down for whatever reason. A list of books that I've recently read and loooved are: There There by Tommy Orange, The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow, Every Breath by Nicholas Sparks, and some nature pedagogy articles and books). Books that I am currently reading and loving are: This Town Sleeps by Dennis E. Staples and Still Me by Jojo Moyes.

  • Dance: We dance almost daily, but M/W/F there is an Instagram Live dance with Twitch and his wife Allison that I've been grooving along with. The kids love dancing and it makes us all laugh so it is definitely something I turn to when we all need to smile.


  • Yoga: T/TH mornings I follow a Yoga with Adriene YouTube video. It's hilarious trying to do yoga with children and I've been videotaping the experience.





  • Create: This has been anything from painting to beading to latte art (of course)

  • Walk/Bike: We walk up the road nearly every day to get the lunches that are provided by the school (BIG thanks to all the hard-workers that are keeping that going, we appreciate you all!). We also like to go for walks in the woods or a bike ride in the evening after Alexander gets home.


The next question I asked myself:


How do I continue to work full-time at home and build/strengthen connections with my children?


The first couple of weeks were rough - I mean, cry in the bathtub, never-ending pity-party rough. I felt that I wasn't giving my kids the attention that they were needing and their behavior was reflecting that. Mertell was acting out, constantly, because the only attention he would get from me while I was trying to work was negative. When I took a break from work, I felt guilty and frustrated for not getting my hours in before 4:30pm (I like having my evenings to spend with my family).


Finally, I decided that it was all in my head and I needed to change. I'm not saying I've solved all of the issues and the days are a breeze. There are still emotions, but I feel that we are working toward being a bit more balanced in our routine.

I try to get moving earlier in the morning so that I have more leeway during the day to spend with the boys. During that time, I give them my full attention. Whether it is walking in the woods, playing board games with Mertell, reading books, doing art projects, or just talking. It is easier when I tell them that I have to work unbothered for a bit because I've intentionally taken that quality time throughout the day.


Of course, my last goal intertwines with everything else that I find important: get outside!

Weather permitting we spend the majority of the day outside. Even if it's rainy or not particularly warm, we still make sure to get outside throughout the day. A couple things we do while outside (besides working and running around crazy):




Morning Meetings on our logs!








Enjoying books on the logs! (Mertell hasn't wanted to sit down to listen to books inside, but he requested four other books after I read the first two that I originally picked out)




What are things that you have been doing to keep busy and happy during this time? Miigwech for reading!

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Aki

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page